The Falklands Play

The Falklands Play (2002)

The Falklands Play is a dramatic account of the political events leading up to, and including, the 1982 Falklands War. The play was written by Ian Curteis, an experienced writer who had started his television career in drama, but had increasingly come to specialise in dramatic reconstructions of history. It was originally commissioned by the BBC in 1983, for production and broadcast in 1986, but was subsequently shelved by Controller of BBC One Michael Grade due to its alleged pro-Margaret Thatcher stance and jingoistic tone. This prompted a press furore over media bias and censorship.The play was not staged until 2002, when it was broadcast in separate adaptations on BBC Television and Radio.

  • Ian Curteis
  • Michael Samuels
themoviedb icon 7/10
  • Views: 1
  • Release Date: 2002-04-10
  • Language: en
  • Runtime: 90

James Fox

Rt Hon Peter, 6th Baron Carrington KCMG MC (Foreign Secretary)

Patricia Hodge

Rt. Hon Margaret Thatcher (Prime Minister)

John Standing

Rt Hon William Whitelaw CH MC MP (Home Secretary)

Michael Cochrane

Rt Hon Nicholas Ridley MP (Financial Secretary to the Treasury)

Colin Stinton

Alexander Haig (US Secretary of State)

Richard Cordery

Tom Enders

Robert Hardy

Sir Anthony Parsons

John Woodvine

Adm. of the Fleet Sir Terence Lewin (Chief of the Defence Staff)

Rupert Vansittart

Sir Robert Armstrong (Cabinet Secretary)

Jonathan Coy

Richard Luce MP (Minister of State, Foreign Office)

Peter Blythe

Rt Hon Sir Michael Havers QC MP (Attorney-General)

Jeremy Clyde

Sir Nicholas Henderson (HM Ambassador to the United States)

Shaughan Seymour

Adm. Sir Henry Leach (First Sea Lord)

Jasper Jacob

John Wilkinson MP (Parliamentary Private Secretary to John Nott)

Garrick Hagon

Vernon Walters (Senior Adviser to the US Secretary of State)

Arturo Venegas

Javier Pérez de Cuéllar (UN Secretary-General)

Vernon Dobtcheff

Nicanor Costa Méndez (Argentine Minister of External Relations)

Tom Chadbon

Adm. Sir John Fieldhouse (C-in-C Fleet)

Patrick Godfrey

Rt Hon Michael Foot MP (Leader of the Opposition)

Renny Krupinski

David Lambie MP (Labour)
Write one

Sorry, no results found.