Emperor of the Sea

Emperor of the Sea (2004)

Emperor of the Sea is a South Korean television drama series directed by Kang Il-soo and Kang Byung-taek and starring Choi Soo-jong, Chae Shi-ra, Song Il-gook and Soo Ae. It aired on KBS2 from November 24, 2004 to May 25, 2005 on Wednesdays and Thursdays at 21:50 for 51 episodes. The historical drama is based on Choi In-ho's novel of the same title, which depicts the life of Jang Bogo, who rises from a lowly slave to a powerful maritime figure who dominated the East Asia seas and international trade during the Unified Silla Dynasty. The drama was received extremely well, holding the number one spot in the ratings for majority of the weeks it aired. It was also exported to eight countries earning approximately US$1.8 million in profits. The filming set in Wando County, South Jeolla Province also became a tourist attraction.

  • Choi In-ho
  • Hwang Ju-ha
Seasons: 1
themoviedb icon 8.3/10
  • Views: 1
  • Release Date: 2004-11-24
  • Language: 한국어/조선말
  • Country: KR
  • Runtime: 70

Bae Soo-bin

Kim Yang

Kim Ah-joong

Baek Ha-jin

Seo Do-young

Moo Jin

Baek Sung-hyun

young Gungbok

Park Young-kyu


Soo Ae

Lady Jung-hwa

Lee Jae-yong

Master Jo Sang-gil

Choi Soo-jong

Jang Bogo/Gungbok

Lee Won-jong

Choi Moo-chang

Chae Jung-an

Lady Chae-ryeong

Song Il-gook

Yeom Moon/Yeom Jang

Kim Gab-soo

Lee Do-hyeong

Park In-hwan

Bogo's father

Chae Shi-ra

Madam Jami
Write one

Sorry, no results found.