The Last Place on Earth

The Last Place on Earth (1985)

The Last Place on Earth is a 1985 Central Television seven part serial, written by Trevor Griffiths based on the book Scott and Amundsen by Roland Huntford. The book is an exploration of the expeditions of Captain Robert F. Scott and his Norwegian rival in polar exploration, Roald Amundsen in their attempts to reach the South Pole. The series ran for seven episodes and starred a wide range of UK and Norwegian character actors as well as featuring some famous names, such as Max von Sydow, Richard Wilson, Sylvester McCoy and Pat Roach. It also featured performances early in their careers by Bill Nighy and Hugh Grant. Subsequently Huntford's book was republished under the same name. The book put forth the point of view that Amundsen's success in reaching the South Pole was abetted by much superior planning, whereas errors by Scott ultimately resulted in the death of him and his companions.

Seasons: 1
themoviedb icon 6/10
  • Views: 1
  • Release Date: 1985-02-18
  • Language: English

Erik Hivju

Sverre Hassel

Ivar Nørve

Oscar Wisting

Jon Eikemo

Adolf Lindstrom

Bill Nighy

Cecil Meares

Lawrence Douglas

Bernard Day

Max von Sydow

Fridtjof Nansen

Martin Shaw

Captain R. F. Scott

Richard Todd

Mr. Barnes

Tom Georgeson

PO Lashly

Hans Ola Sørlie

Jorgen Stubberud

Toralv Maurstad

Hjalmar Johansen

Robin Soans

PO Keohane

Hugh Grant


Alexander Knox

Sir Clements Markham

Michael Maloney

Lt. 'Teddy' Evans

Brian Dennehy

Frederick Cook

Pat Roach

PO Evans

Sylvester McCoy

Lt. 'Birdie' Bowers

Peter Jeffrey

Lord Curzon

Sverre Anker Ousdal

Roald Amundsen

Nickolas Grace

Lord Howard de Walden

Per Theodor Haugen

Leon Amundsen

Stephen Moore

Dr. 'Bill' Wilson

Richard Morant

Capt. 'Titus' Oates

Richard Wilson

Scott Keltie

Susan Wooldridge

Kathleen Bruce - Mrs. Scott
Write one

Sorry, no results found.